PCM Diagnostics & Tuning HP Tuners | Holley | Diablo

Engine stand startup - fire but no idle

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2018 | 06:07 AM
9 Second Club
10 Year Member

Default Engine stand startup - fire but no idle

I'm a keyboard tuning newb.... but trying to get the hang of it.

Using HP Tuner
2005 4.8 DBC, going to run a turbo but not plumbed on the stand.
Installed sloppy stage 2 cam, 80lb SD injectors, and 2bar map.
Harness is stock cut down by me to be stand alone.
All sensors except odb2 are plugged in

I can get the engine to fire and run for a second before rpms drop and it stalls. If I work the throttle it will run. I set base idle speed higher (1100)! And it helped a little but not enough.

Pretty sure I need to mess with fuel give the new inj but not really sure if that is the right place to start.

Note, I started with a similar veg config from the sloppy tune cabinet but the layout of my base tune has a few differences
Old 07-08-2018 | 06:10 AM
9 Second Club
10 Year Member

Should note alt is not in use either but batt is fully charged
Old 07-08-2018 | 09:49 AM
Launching!

where is your file and what are the list of mods including the fuel system.

also a log of your attempt. without them one can only guess.
Old 07-08-2018 | 11:17 AM
9 Second Club
10 Year Member

GOT IT TO IDLE!

My mods are:
2 bar map
80lb SD injectors
Elgin cam Lift: 0.585"/0.585"; Duration @ 0.050": 228°/230° 112 lobe seperation
PAC springs
** That is it until I plumb the turbo. I also have not plumbed the ODB2 or my WB. I'll get to that later.

The "fuel system" I'm using is a fuel injector cleaner kit filled with gas and pressured to ~55 pounds...