Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

beginner tuner, a/f ratio question

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2019, 11:47 AM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default beginner tuner, a/f ratio question

i am preparing to tune my car for the first time. car was previously tuned with a cam, LT, full exhaust. since then i have went to a forged bottom end, 243 heads with a valve job, different cam, but still have the ls1 intake as of now. i bought a wideband and hooked it up and the car is running extremely rich all the time. right at high 10s, low 11s at idle and mostly low to mid 11 cruising. i was preparing to change my values in the main ve table, when a thought struck me. i have been wanting to upgrade intakes, and i was curious if i went with say a fast 92 or 102, would this cause the car to lean out some? it should definitely deliver more air, but will it also give more fuel? sorry if this is a dumb question, this is my first time tuning a car, and have gotten 95 percent of my knowledge about it from google and youtube videos
Old 03-17-2019, 01:58 AM
Teching In

Originally Posted by Barrett 98z28
i am preparing to tune my car for the first time. car was previously tuned with a cam, LT, full exhaust. since then i have went to a forged bottom end, 243 heads with a valve job, different cam, but still have the ls1 intake as of now. i bought a wideband and hooked it up and the car is running extremely rich all the time. right at high 10s, low 11s at idle and mostly low to mid 11 cruising. i was preparing to change my values in the main ve table, when a thought struck me. i have been wanting to upgrade intakes, and i was curious if i went with say a fast 92 or 102, would this cause the car to lean out some? it should definitely deliver more air, but will it also give more fuel? sorry if this is a dumb question, this is my first time tuning a car, and have gotten 95 percent of my knowledge about it from google and youtube videos