Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Why am I running Lean??

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2004, 04:11 PM
12 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Why am I running Lean??

Hey guys I had my SS Dynoed to see what she had for power, I have LT Headers, X-Pipe, Lid, FTRA, And home ported TB. Well the car put down 340RWHP and 350RWTQ (NO TUNING) But my A/F was reading almost 17 to 1 which is very lean, Why would it do this, and how can I fix it? Also will tuning give me more RWHP and RWTQ?
Old 08-06-2004, 05:33 PM
12 Second Club

Anyone
Old 08-06-2004, 08:02 PM
TECH Resident

Wow. Were they using a wide band o2 sensor on that dyno to get your a/f ratio? I'm not an expert, but it seems that the general consensus around here is in order to get an accurate a/f ratio after a LT header install you need a wide band o2. Relying on something like ATAP isn't a good idea because the placement of the o2's has moved and could be giving inaccurate readings.

To answer your question, I think there is def. more to be gained by rich-ening up your a/f mixture. And not just in the hp/tq dept either, you could damage some critical engine components running that lean.
Old 08-06-2004, 09:07 PM
TECH Addict

Received 14 Likes on 10 Posts

Do you have the stock MAF with screen? If not that is one reason. Another is that you could have the crappy Hypertech tuning in there and not know it! Did you buy the car used?

Does it make popcorn sound?

Post your dyno graph with A/F if you could.

I wouldn't be doing to many WOT runs with that A/F or you'll be buying a new engine...
Old 08-07-2004, 12:48 PM
12 Second Club

I bought the car used from the original owner, and it was totaly stock when I bought it. I did how ever remove the screen from the stock MAF, but did not do any porting. It does not make any popcorn sounds when running. How do I post the Dyno graph, I have a scanner so should I just scan it and post it up here or what do I do?
Old 08-08-2004, 11:21 AM
TECH Senior Member