Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Speed Density Tune?

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2006, 09:39 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Speed Density Tune?

I was going to go with a speed density tune for my boyfriend's car, but have been told it needs to be re-tuned when the weather changes...
I live in Texas, and the weather changes everyday.
Someone who has actually had this done, or knows what they are talking about please give me some advice on a s/d tune.
Old 01-04-2006, 10:14 AM
TECH Fanatic

If your tuner gives you the means to change SA and fueling based on IAT output then your SD tune can keep up with Texas weather.
Old 01-04-2006, 10:29 AM
12 Second Club

I am not an expert on sd and my car is kind of a seasonal car so it dosent see a whole lot of weather but cars didnt used to have maf sensors and they werent retuned every day so im pretty sure that the IAT will compensate for it.
Old 01-04-2006, 10:58 AM
TECH Junkie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

SD tunes (either OEM or aftermarket) use the MAP sensor mainly to correct for weather/altitude changes.
Old 01-04-2006, 11:45 AM
TECH Senior Member

SD will be using your MAP and IAT (as well as O2s for closed loop) ... so long as your tune is right it should be able to compensate... the biggest problem I've found is that if you tune in warm weather... then go to use the car in cold weather... you hit different cells that you may not have tuned previously ... so you have to hit those too... but once the VE table is dialed in there shouldn't be much variance
Old 01-04-2006, 11:56 AM
Kleeborp the Moderator™

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Geez...this is another rumor that really needs to be put to rest. I don't even know where this crap started, but it definitely isn't an issue. As stated, the MAP and IAT sensors will compensate for varying weather conditions. Just make sure you have your entire VE table dialed in, and you'll be set.

I run an OPEN LOOP SD tune on my daily driver, no issues.