PCM Diagnostics & Tuning HP Tuners | Holley | Diablo

Tuning Knock Retard

Search this Thread

Old 01-18-2006 | 07:42 PM
Launching!

Default Tuning Knock Retard

I seached this forum for anything related to Knock retard. Most of the results came up with UFC battles. So I am posting a new thread. Last weekend I finally got my NX kit wired up and was running it on a dyno. I managed to record my last scan on a 150 hit. I sent the scan to a buddy of mine and he noticed that i was getting knock retard right after the spray kicked in. About 1.7 acutally. My question is what changes can I make to my tune to adjust the KR? I am new to tuning so I am trying to figure this out as I got. My bud told me I could look at tuning the PE table. But by how much?

Thanks for any input.

Nakoz
Old 01-19-2006 | 03:23 PM
Launching!

I guess no one knows or should I be posting this in the Nitrous section???
Old 01-19-2006 | 03:28 PM
Kleeborp the Moderator™

We'd really need to look at a log of some sort to see where it was, and what the other conditions were to make a good guess. It sounds like you need some extra fuel on the hit to me. How are you tuning your car?
Old 01-19-2006 | 03:44 PM
ESR
LS1TECH Sponsor

you should have retarded the timing 2 or 3degrees at least for that 150 shot if you have not adjusted your timing tables. You can add more fuel it may get rid of it or it may not depending on how much power your pushing. I doubt youve reached the limit of pump gas but be realize it does have a limit.

Originally Posted by Nakoz