Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

First dyno tune attempt - tell me what you think of my plan

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2006, 03:24 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First dyno tune attempt - tell me what you think of my plan

Im headed to a dynojet dyno this weekend for my first shot at dyno tuning. Im runnin a speed-density, closed loop tune and I've already dialed in the VEs using EFILive and an LC1. Im currently running a relatively flat AFR curve at 12.96:1 and about 30* WOT advance.

I have a 2-3 degrees of knock retard during WOT, but i think it is false knock becuase it doesnt go away when i remove timing. If this becomes a problem during the session, im just going to disable the knock retard completely (its already desensitized)

My plan is as follows ( i only have 1 hour to work with)
1. Set the PE afr by doing a baseline run, a run with a 5% (across the board)increase in fuel and a run with a 5% decrease in fuel. Pick the direction out of the three that gives the most power. Then repeat using only a 2% change in either direction.

2. Set WOT timing by doing a baseline run, a run with a 10% (across the board) increase in timing, and a run with a 10% decrease in timing. Pick the run that generates the most power, repeat with a 5% change.

3. Repeat step 1 if time allows

What do y'all think? I feel like this will get me pretty close to optimum fuel/timing in the time i have. I am choosing to maintain the same curve shape for the fuel/advance by multiplying across the board. If i had more time, i might try to optimize for a given rpm range (say optimize for every 1000 rpm).
Old 11-09-2006, 05:44 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

changes in timing can affect AFR, AFR changes affect knock tendency....KR you're gettin now may not be false, could be lean or rich misfire, depends on how close your LC1 is to actual AFR....things tend to get out of hand when your under a time crunch...keep that in mind and good luck