Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

tuning ve with new hp tuner- issues in sd mode

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2008, 02:14 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default tuning ve with new hp tuner- issues in sd mode

I have been reading help docs and the forums for awile as i am new to tuning. I have used what i found to get me started and i have changed all the settings that needed changed for my setup(gears, 160 stat, egr and air delete, rear o2 codes) except the air/fuel tuning- which just so happens to be the most difficult I have followed the basic tuning instructions and found a snag. I am trying to tune ve using the forced SD mode, log the data and apply histogram settings to the ve table. When i forced the car to SD and started/ran it it was surging and died everytime i stoped the car it also ran very awkward. needless to say this way of tuning may not work. I have log files of my data with a stock tune and the car doesnt run all that bad but i know that ve and fuel is off due to my mods(in signature) and has starting( have to give some gas for about 5 secs at first or it dies) and coming to stop issues(surges) but doesnt die. This was more then obvious when using the stock SD mode. The maf must have been doing its job because the car drives awful without it. I know the hotcam is a pain to tune anyways but does anyone have any suggestions on what to change or how to tune this another way? I have a wideband (AEM not hooked to tuner). can i tune by logging the data and applying the histogram data to ve with the maf enabled? and is there a way someone new to tuning can check maf accuracy with hptuners. I apologize if this has been gone over many times, im new to it, and could not find an answer(that was not a 1 page math formula) I did all the work on my car but tuning is not my strength.
Old 03-11-2008, 03:00 PM
LS1TECH Sponsor

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Post your current tune that is setup for SD and running poorly.
Old 03-11-2008, 04:35 PM
Staging Lane