Pontiac Firebird 1967-2002 Birds of a feather flock together

1998 Firebird. ABS INOP on light after alignment.

Search this Thread

Old 10-27-2011, 03:54 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1998 Firebird. ABS INOP on light after alignment.

I have a mostly stock 1998 Firebird with the v6 and auto trans. The car has no issues at 166k. I noticed that the front end felt a bit tight so I had it aligned and they replaced my driver's side front tie rod end. Upon returning the car the ABS INOP light was on. I took it back today and the guy at the shop gave me some bull about how I needed to have my computer "reprogrammed". The light was not on before I had the work done there. I now have no ABS but I need my car. I am a full time college student and I also work full time. Additionally I have a girlfriend so you can tell I don't have a lot of free time or money to deal with this. Any suggestions? Should I make the shop deal with this? How sure can I be that they are responsible for the problem? Thanks
Old 10-28-2011, 04:35 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 165 Likes on 149 Posts

That happened to me several months ago on my 1994 Firebird. I took it to the dealership and they told me my third brake light was burned out. They replaced both bulbs and the light went out. Have someone stand behind your car and check yours out.
Old 10-29-2011, 10:22 AM

Hey Nathan. Thanks man. You are confirming my thoughts. I read this somewhere else the other day and had a buddy at work check the third brake light. It was out and I pulled the bulbs out yesterday. They were blown like a glass ornament. I haven't had a chance to get the parts store but I will report back and let y'all know if this solves the issue.
Old 10-29-2011, 11:51 PM
Teching In

i got on the braks one day 2 prevent fender bender now 4 outa 5 tims drivng my camaro the abs,brake,and,asr light comes on lookng 4 info was thinking mite just b dirty sensor
Old 10-30-2011, 10:28 AM
TECH Regular