Pontiac GTO 2004-2006 The Modern Goat

Question about the A4 and the M6

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-2004, 07:56 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Question about the A4 and the M6

I've never driven stick before so It's hard to see myself getting a M6 GTO. I've been doing alot of research and I came accross a post where a guy said that an A4 can't be "modded" to go any faster. Is this true? I'm a newbie when it comes to superchargers/heads/cams

Thanks
Old 05-20-2004, 08:27 AM
TECH Enthusiast

You can do a whole lot of stuff with an A4 transmission car. Bone stock, you will have slightly less performance, mostly due to torque management in the computer. That can be fixed with tuning / programming. I've driven a stick all my life and certainly couldn't imagine buying this car with an automatic - but that's just me. The A4 guys seem to be having just as much fun driving and modding their cars.
Also - the A4 is generally better for turning more consistent quick times in drag racing.
Dan
Old 05-20-2004, 09:59 AM
Teching In

Thanks for the reply, I'll probably end up goin with the automatic just because I've never driven standard. My only worry is the gas mileage. Do you think the specs are that reliable and the standard will get up to 7 more miles per gallon highway than the automatic?
Old 05-20-2004, 10:15 AM
TECH Enthusiast

I'm getting 15 average with my M6. If i can actually drive and not sit in traffic - I'd be getting high teens. I've seen very similar numbers for daily driving from the autos. I haven't had a real chance to run it on the highway - but from other discussions it appears 25+ is doable with the m6 and only highway miles. The 29 appears to be running like 60 in 6th - which seems like a bit low on the RPM's to cruise for me.
Of course, in the grand scheme of things if you are that worried about gas mileage you shouldn't be buying a GTO
Dan
Old 05-20-2004, 10:41 AM
Teching In

Or an LSX car of any sort. LOL

Pat