Pontiac GTO 2004-2006 The Modern Goat

GTO procharger owners

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-2006, 12:11 AM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default GTO procharger owners

I posted this on LS1GTO as well, please excuse the duplicate....not sure we get everybody at both sites....

Since planning my 408 build I have known the little P1SC-1 was marginal at best. However I started playing with the max impeller speed equations and quickly realised that I am a long way from the max. Case in point the P1SC-1 enjoys a 65000 rpm limit. These kits shipped with a 3.85 Pulley even @ 6500 rpm the impeller is only spinning @ 48454 RPM.....I can get close to max speed with around a 2.9" blower pulley. The problem is ATI states anything much lower than a 3.25 is going to have belt slip issues. EPP confirms this and does not recommend anything lower than the 3.25.

The problem stems from the ATI crank pulley only being 7" in diameter. I have spoken with ASP they quoted me a custom pulley for around $250.00 if we come up with 30 sets the price point may come down to around $175.00

You guys with the D1SC-1 have a similar issue as your impeller limit is 62000 you still have to run a pretty small blower pulley to achieve this.

As my engine bay is completely empty right now I cant even check for clearance issues. I would like to see an 8" or 8.25" Anyone who's car is intact let me know if there is room for an additional .5 or .75 all around the ATI lower pulley.

if any of you are interested in this let me know, I doubt we can come up with 30 but I would like to go to ASP with more than just a couple.

Those of you who think maxing out the impeller will get you more boost than you want....the advantage is the boost comes on at a lower engine RPM. A restrictor plate can be utilized to maximize the torque at an earlier rpm yet keep boost levels at an acceptable level......

Just some things to think about.....
Old 05-04-2006, 03:44 AM
TECH Resident