Road Racing Road Course | Autocross

Autocross Setup

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2016, 11:54 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Autocross Setup

I’m looking for some help on my new Autocross setup. I’ve been Autocrossing for 3 years and I can’t quite get my new setup working correctly. I’m about a second behind the 2015 track pack mustangs. PS I hate Mustangs this will not suffice.

I have not started adjusting my suspension yet. I was wondering what setting you guys might be running on your shocks. I would like some type of starting point and then fine tune it from there. Since my car is lowered, it’s hard to adjust the front suspension at the events. I know my tires aren’t the best but for the price of them they work pretty well.

My current set up:
1995 z28 A4 with cam and heads runs low 12.3 in the ¼.
3.90 gear through a ford 9” rearend
Koni sport shocks (single adjustable)
Strano Springs
Strano Sway Bars
UMI Adjustable Panhard Bar
Spohn Adjustable torque Arm
Spohn Sub frame connectors (not installed)
Federal 595 RSR tires 140 treadwear
Old 05-13-2016, 03:28 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Man with that setup you should be smashing those mustangs!
What alignment specs are you running?
what sized tires? How's the wear on your tires? wearing on outside? inside?
A Watts link would be a nice upgrade to your setup.
Old 05-13-2016, 06:43 PM
TECH Resident

Received 141 Likes on 108 Posts

A couple things. Those Federal are OK, but a name brand tire really will make a difference. Another huge thing: what are your alignment settings?
Old 05-13-2016, 09:16 PM
Teching In

I had a stock alignment when I put the motor in. This might sound stupid but I do not understand what alignment specs I should have. If you guys could give me some type of help in that area and what I should start with on the shock adjustments I'll do it this week and have it realigned and give you two an update next week.
Old 05-13-2016, 09:16 PM
Teching In