Road Racing Road Course | Autocross

making the convt handle

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2004, 10:14 PM
10 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default making the convt handle

ok im a newbie at suspension and have only had my car for a few months but already the suspension is holding me back and i want to upgrade some things

its a 99 a4 t/a convt (yea best chioch to road race right ) but i have about a few bucks to play with and just looking to see what would be the best route for me
Old 11-10-2004, 10:50 PM

Received 19 Likes on 17 Posts

A good set of weld in subframe connectors and a set of Eibach ProKit springs are where I would start. They made a huge difference in how my convertible handled, although in efforts to have a "stiff" convertible, I have done just about everything to it. Close, but hasnt happened yet....going to do some custom work over the winter.

SFC's and ProKit is the best place to start for the money. From there go with larger swaybars.

Jason
Old 11-11-2004, 12:37 AM
10 Second Club

i was looking at the pro kit and i like the prices plus im going to be adding a rollbar soon (i wish i had a roof somtimes) so that should help somewhat

didnt think of subframe connectors well didnt know what they hell they did either way.........sorry yeah very newbish
Old 11-11-2004, 12:46 AM
10 Second Club

never mind just found a deal on some nice bmr convt connectors

thanks though
Old 11-11-2004, 08:13 AM

Received 19 Likes on 17 Posts

If you are going to do a rollbar, I would suggest the Wolfe. Best fitting, most functional, and best looking cage in my opinion. I have installed 5 of them, including one in each of my cars.

Jason
Old 11-12-2004, 06:35 PM
Teching In

If you autocross, or plan to, be carefull with SFC's. In most clubs they will bump you up into higher classes and you'll be forced to compete with more heavily modified cars.