Wiring, Stereo & Electronics Audio Components | Radars | Alarms - and things that spark when they shouldn't

Am I right in thinking Phoenix Gold is the Ferrari of car hi-fi?

Search this Thread

Old 09-26-2004, 04:58 AM
SXS
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile Am I right in thinking Phoenix Gold is the Ferrari of car hi-fi?

Especially their new Xenon range? What would the audiophiles amongst you say is the:
  1. best manufacturer for amps
  2. best manufacturer for subs
  3. best manufacturer for midrange speakers
  4. and best manufacturer for tweeters?
  5. also - whats the best power cap out there?
  6. and then on top of all that - whats the best auto split charging system out there?

I'm new to the audio scene, and what I know is based on what I knew back in the 90's... I guess things have changed now... so any help greatly appreciated!
Old 09-26-2004, 10:45 PM
TECH Addict

I started competing on the car audio circuit more than 10 years ago. Honestly not much has changed since then as far as who makes the best stuff. Anyone in the know will probably tell you something close to the following:

For amps and subs, check out JL Audio. The guy who started Precision Power and Xtant now runs JL. They had the best subs before he started running the show, now they have the cleanest sounding amps on the market too.

As far as PGold, yes they are clean sounding amplifiers, but remember this: they started out making power equipment (alternators, caps, etc.) so their amps are going to want more juice than your car is going to be able to deliver (stock).

Mids: MB Quart or Focal are hands down the best.

Tweets: who can top a pair of titanium MB Quarts hitting 32kHz? Although the human ear can not hear that high and your cross-over will cut out anything over 20k (at least it better), the tweets will remain flat well beyond what you will ever need them to produce.