Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

Questions after Koni/Strano install

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-2014, 09:14 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Questions after Koni/Strano install

First of all, this was a huge improvement over the worn out stock shocks and springs! The install was a nightmare due to all the rust-- I had to cut off a few nuts, but I was able to complete in the install in decent time.

I noticed the ball joints all look flat-- they don't bulge out at all. Is this a sign I need to replace them? The upper ball joint was so flat, I was able to put the castle bolt on almost past the cotter pin hole. Does this sound right? The car has 90,000 miles on the clock.

As I have posted before, I'm more familiar with Mustangs, since that's what I used to own. I'm still learning about the f-body, but I know if the ball joints on my mustang looked like this, they would be getting replaced.

Secondly, I noticed the car isn't sitting even on all 4 corners after I lowered it. The driver side is sitting higher than the passenger side. I took some measurements --

Front driver..........27 1/16
Front passenger....26 7/16 (5/8" difference)

Rear driver...........27 1/8
Rear passenger.....26 7/16 (11/16" difference)

Any idea what would cause this? I can't think of anything I would have done to make it uneven. The front shocks are using the top spring perches, and every corner is using the factory spring isolators.
Old 05-04-2014, 11:12 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts

Were the joints themselves loose feeling at all? Ball joints are ball joints, no matter the vehicle really. If they're worn they need redone. I replaced mine on my 99 at just a tad over 100k, although the ball joints on my old 98 lasted until the demise of the whole car at 161k (I really have no idea how).