Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

Koni STR.T Shocks

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-2017, 09:44 PM
Launching!

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Koni STR.T Shocks

Good evening. I've been contemplating on getting new shocks for my 2000 TRANS AM. Was hoping for some insight on what works. I know everyone is recommending the Koni yellows (adjustable/expensive lol) with either strano or BMR springs but I wanted to use stock springs.

Unfortunately my budget doesn't include the better Koni sport but I've read that the str.t are comparable to bilsteins possibly, anyone using stock springs with the Koni strts?
Old 09-19-2017, 10:14 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 16 Likes on 16 Posts

I hear the STR.T's and Bilsteins are very comparable overall with a slight nod to the STR.T's with lowered setups. I run them but with BMR springs
Old 09-20-2017, 05:47 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts

Stock springs are actually far more ideal with something like the bilstiens or the Koni STR.t's as that is what those shocks were designed for in the first place.
You can use Koni yellows with stock springs as well and get an unbelievable difference in handling, ride, feel and stability. Then later down the road if you choose to lower you already have the best "off the shelf" shock to do it.
Old 09-20-2017, 07:20 AM
12 Second Club

Received 72 Likes on 57 Posts

I've got the str t 's with the bmr springs and am very pleased with the setup. Nice upgrade from stock at a reasonable price.
Old 09-20-2017, 07:44 AM
Launching!

OK great! I appreciate the feedback,I think the koni yellows may be something further down the line when the car sees more "track time". Any issues I may occur when removing/installing the new ones? I've looked at it, doesn't seem to complicated just some surface rust PB blaster won't help loosen.
Old 09-20-2017, 09:37 AM
LS1Tech Premium Sponsor

Received 17 Likes on 16 Posts