Question regarding Body Shop and used parts

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2008, 05:40 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Question regarding Body Shop and used parts

So my car got hit in the rear and the estimate was $2400 with used/reconditioned parts plus no remarks on the estimate except repair Quarter Panel which means Bondo surely.

How should I try to get new parts and no bondo on the Quarter Panel, plus try to get the guy to paint my front bumper and hood to cover up rock chips ?

Any suggestions or where to take it would be appreciated.. I live in Keller NRH Ft Worth Grapevine DFW etc

Sorry never got in a wreck before, and I have been driving for 10 years...

Thanks guys
Old 10-09-2008, 01:38 AM
TECH Resident

I am pretty sure if the car is older that 24 months the insurance has the right to use used parts as long as they are the same like kind and quality. The best thing to do is negotiate with the body shop you are going to use and get them to work out a deal with you on the front bumper or what ever else your going to need done. If the insurance company gave you the estimate that doesn't mean any thing. There is going to be hidden damage and stuff the insurance adjuster missed.
Old 10-09-2008, 08:11 AM
TECH Fanatic

what does it say in your contract with teh insurance company?
Old 10-09-2008, 09:53 AM
Teching In

Well there isnt a contract persay since it is only an estimate from the lady's insurance company but it just mentions the items needed to be fixed on the exterior that you can see are damaged. I just dont want bondo Quarter Panel and may slip the shop some cash to paint the hood and bumper while they are at it.

Plus it is an estimate per Craigs Collision where they want me to go but I know I'm taking it somewhere else.

I just dont have any ideas where to take it
Old 10-09-2008, 02:59 PM
Staging Lane