Honda XR650L (672cc) custom built supermotto/BAJA race bike

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2009, 07:52 AM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Honda XR650L (672cc) custom built supermotto/BAJA race bike

I am testing the waters for a bike that I have been building for quite a few years now. Only reason I'm putting it on this site is becuase I thought some of you adrenaline junkies out there might be interested..

First, A little history:
I bought the bike with the intentions of building a one of a kind BAJA race bike out of the air-cooled designed "street/enduro" version of the liquid cooled XR650R "race bike" that was world renown for its 10 consecutive back-to-back BAJA championships. I did just that, and then some... However, after a major surgery to my right arm the reality set in that I would never be able to run the BAJA and actually be able to complete the grueling 1,000 mile race.. Not to mention the fact that the bike that I built, was in-fact much much faster then even the fastest bike on the whole circuit (Johnny cambell's 110mph xr650R).. This is that bike.. After much debate, and the fact of the economy and recently losing my job. I'v come to realize that this bike deserves to be in someone else's hands to actually do what it was intended for or atleast compete in something "race-orientated"..

Engine modifications:
*JE 102mm piston (10:5:1 compression)
*Carrillo connecting Rod (custom made by carrillo for this particular bike..They only make one for the 650R... go figure..)
*Falicon Crank (custom made, re-worked, lightened and welded)
*CNC ported cylinder head (XR's Only Big-Fin welded on for added cooling)
*Kibble White valves (custom made"neck-down" titanium 2mm-intake, 1mm-exhuast oversize)
*Megacycle cam (custom grind Roadrace profile)
*Webcam hardened rockers, shortened guides and springs
*All new crank bearings, case bearings, hardened shift forks and undercut gears ect.