Western Members CA, AZ, NV, UT, CO, NM, HI

who lives in sacramento?

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-2008, 07:58 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default who lives in sacramento?

what are the goods and bads of it? Im thinking about relocating to cali, just not sure where. i am a union electrician so i've been trying to contact some locals in cali...seems like theres not much work available right now though. im looking to move in 8 months i think. thanks for the opinions

ps, i dont want to start a nor cal vs so cal war either
Old 10-27-2008, 12:21 PM
Launching!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

come on bro,we need more electricians.I am also a union electrician local 180,about 40 minutes from sac towards san fran.there is work but in about 4-5 months there will be alot of stuff breaking.The houses are very cheap right now,and the weather is decent year round.You have tracks close by and plenty of car guys here that have meets and what not all the time.

oh and about the only bad is smog and stupid *** laws but that is all of cali...
Old 10-27-2008, 03:53 PM
TECH Junkie

thanks for the reply! I emailed a couple local 6 and 465 and they both said work was pretty slow. I am looking to be a traveler for a year and see how it goes. I havent contacted 340 yet (sacramento) to see how work is there.

In chicago you can kinda work between locals, but sometimes they want you to do it on a permit basis. We have had a couple from another local though without any problems or permits for the last couple years though. Is it the same out there? Also sounds like some of the locals out there don't do the hiring, it's all company based...unlike chicago, we are on the book system here.

I was told commercial work is mostly in conduit and residential is romex, is that correct? I don't think I could be an electrician if I did romex and no pipe work (zzzzzz). Whats typical union wage out there, and does it include good benefits?