Western Members CA, AZ, NV, UT, CO, NM, HI

Moving to California ???'s

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2010, 08:27 PM
12 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Moving to California ???'s

Hey all, I will be moving to california soon and I am not sure what to do with my car.
There is no way it will pass smog/visual tests and I will not put it back to stock just to pass. I would sell it before that ever happened.
I am an ase master mechanic and will be looking for a mechanics job out there. Maybe I can land at a decent shop and be able to smog test my own car? But then if I get pulled over I could get screwed I imagine.

My other thought is to put the title in a friends name and have him register it here in MI. Then I could keep MI plates on it and have him renew the registration every year (no inspections at all). If I ever got pulled over I could just say I'm borrowing it. If any neighbors turn me in what would they say? I can't register someone else's car in my name in CA so there's nothing they could do, right?
Is it illegal to drive someone else's out of state car over a certain time frame?

The other option is just to sell it before I move and buy something that will pass emissions tests once I get out there. I really love my car and don't want to go that route but I don't want it to me a huge headache just to keep my car illegally out there.

Any suggestions?
Old 02-12-2010, 08:41 PM
On The Tree

what part of cali?. My car whont pass smog or inspection but it will on paper
Old 02-12-2010, 09:19 PM
12 Second Club

Probably sf bay area. What happens if you get pulled over? Seems like my car would be very obvious that it shouldn't be able to pass inspection.
Old 02-12-2010, 11:12 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

Don't sell your car. Just buy a used beater car here in california.
Old 02-13-2010, 03:04 AM
On The Tree

Originally Posted by poolshark021