Wheels & Tires Forged | Billet | Cast | Radials | Slicks

Need help buying rear tires for my 2003 S2000

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2005, 02:12 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need help buying rear tires for my 2003 S2000

Hello, I'm far from an expert when it comes to cars, so I need some advice buying tires. I have a stock 2003 Honda S2000, and the Potenza S-02's that came with it are pretty much bald after 17k miles. Previously, I've always bought Yokohama's, though I've also never had a car quite like this one. Anyways, I've done some pricing on Tire Rack, as well as talked to guys at Discount Tire and Just Tires. I was looking at the Yokohama ES 100's and Avid V4s, and the Kumho 712's, though the discount tire guy said that the Kumho's would wear out too soon and he didn't have much experience with the Yoko's, and he recommended the Falken 512's.

My buddy that used to work at Just Tires said either the Falken or the Yoko's would be fine, though he recommended I stay away from the Kumho's. So, I called Just Tires, and the guy I talked to there said that the Falken's were horrible, and the Kumho's would be better than either set of the Yoko's. He also suggested either the BFG Sport Gforce or the Fuzions. Mixed reviews are a pain..

I'm looking to stay in the $250 range for the pair, and I'm just looking for a tire with good handling that will last at least 20k. I don't drive too agressive, but I'd still like to be able to get up and go when I need to. Can anyone provide some good feedback that will help me make a decision?
Old 05-13-2005, 02:16 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Kuhmo makes a nice inexpesive tire, I prefer the MX's but it is fairly heavy.
Yoko, makes good tires.
Falken are OK, although I have no experience.
BFG makes a great tire although a little pricey.
Fusion is a newer tire on the market, but has been getting pretty good reviews.
Old 05-13-2005, 02:23 PM
TECH Junkie