Wiring, Stereo & Electronics Audio Components | Radars | Alarms - and things that spark when they shouldn't

How do I?

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-2009, 02:49 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How do I?

Get the connector I took off of my stock sail panel speaker to attach to my new CDT CL-6 mid woofers? Im an audio newb, and it dosn't seem to slide on like it did with the stock speaker?
Old 05-20-2009, 05:16 PM
TECH Regular

You usually just cut off the stock plug and strip the wires. What kind of connectors does the your new speakers have? Are they spade connectors? If so just cut the stock plug off and get some female spade ends and crimp them on.
Old 05-20-2009, 05:52 PM
TECH Addict

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Yep, that's what I'd do. You can leave a little bit on the stock connector and put the other end (tab) crimp connectors back for if you want to put your stock speakers back (e.g. to sell the car). For the female (car) side, use insulated terminals, so that if you do in fact put the stock connector back, they won't short out.

For wire colors, see the stickies at the top of the section.
Old 05-20-2009, 06:35 PM
On The Tree

They are spade ends on the new speaker. Problem is the connecter on my old speaker connected directly to the speaker and there are none of these mysterious wires coming out of it, and it will not connect directly to my new speaker. So if I understand right my only choice is to cut the connector completly off the wire in my car that runs to the HU and crimp on these ends that im probly going to get at radioshack and instead of the connector connecting to the speaker, the wire will now slide driectly on to these "spades" on my new speaker with the new connectors i've spliced onto the wires.