Wiring, Stereo & Electronics Audio Components | Radars | Alarms - and things that spark when they shouldn't

Alpine CDA 9886 Installation Question!

Search this Thread

Old 06-06-2009, 11:34 AM
10 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Alpine CDA 9886 Installation Question!

I almost bought this headunit from crutchfield when a warning popped up saying "Extension kit -- when installed, the radio will protrude from the dash by 1/2". " Does this mean that the H/U will stick out 1/2 inch no matter what? I bought the METRA kit from best buy because I was told that it would allow the H/U to sit flush with the dash. Im a noob when it comes to stereo equipment so any help would be awesome!
Old 06-06-2009, 11:49 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

It is the same size as my IDA-X200.
I had to bend down the metal bracket that supports
the back of the monsoon HU (no need to cut it),
and with the Metra kit I had to use 90° RCA ends because straight end prevented
the HU from fitting in the dash.

It will still be a tight fit if you use the pre-outs.
I also milled the square ring spacer by half so the face stuck out of the dash a little.
You can see the difference between the Metra and Scosche kits here Post#9
Old 06-06-2009, 11:57 AM
10 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Awesome.. Thanks man!
Old 06-07-2009, 12:47 AM
TECH Addict

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts