Wiring, Stereo & Electronics Audio Components | Radars | Alarms - and things that spark when they shouldn't

Questions about amp selection

Search this Thread

Old 03-29-2006, 11:18 PM
What's a Sticky?

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Questions about amp selection

I am thinking about getting a stealth box and putting in a sub just to add the little more bass that I'm desiring. Being new to car audio, I was wondering how to select an amp? I guess first off, should I select a 2 or a 4 ohm sub? I was considering the alpine type-s. That sub's power range is 50-300 watts RMS. So should I get an amp that puts out 300 watts bridged/ or does somebody make a 1 channel 300 watt amp? Sorry, if I'm completely missing something, like i said I'm new to this.

If anyone has a cheap set up (sub and amp) in mind let me know. I'm not really wanting to spend all that much, as I was a first just considering replacing the sail panel speakers. I don't mind if its an 8 inch sub either. I just want some more bass for not a lot of money. Thanks guys.
Old 03-30-2006, 12:23 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

If you are wanting one sub, the Alpine Type-S is a great choice. I have two of them and they work really well. For one sub configurations, get the SWS-1042D (10") or SWS-1242D (12"). For a dual sub configuration, get the SWS-1022D (10") or SWS-1222D (12"). The Type-S subs are dual voice coil and each coil is rated at 150 Watts RMS. As for the amp, you will want a class D monoblock (1 channel outupt) since they are very efficient since they work in a small frequency band. I am putting 152 Watts RMS on each coil and it pushes they well. So, you would want an amp that does at least 300 Watts RMS at 2 Ohms. A good amp for 1 sub would be the Alpine MRP-M450. It is rated at 400Watts RMSx1 at 2 Ohm. For the system as a whole:

Alpine Type-S $80 shipped
Alpine MRP-M450 $125
Subthump Stealthbox $129 shipped