Wiring, Stereo & Electronics Audio Components | Radars | Alarms - and things that spark when they shouldn't

JL Audio 6W0's?

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2002, 05:34 PM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default JL Audio 6W0's?

Got a question for y'all. I've been Installing Car Audio for 4 Years, as well as doing sales, So I 've seen quite a few systems. What I have not seen or heard of is this crazy idea I've had that might just work. OK, I just bought my 2000 T/A, and I LOVE the T-tops. I had 2 JL W12's in the trunk of my previous car, a V6 Camaro, and I want to keep the T-Top storage area in the T/A and not fill it up with box, like I did in the camaro. I also know what a single 10" in a stealthbox, or 12" in a custom enclosure sounds like. then I noticed the very rear speaker locations in the hatch area for the stock Monsoon system. There might be enough depth, and area to fit two JL 6W0's behind each factory grille using custom 'glass enclosures. The 6W0 has a total depth of only 4", and the 6W0 does not have a center backplate vent which would get blocked if the speaker was installed close to the bottom of the box. So this might work, running 4 6W0's behind a pair of factory grilles, and running them with a good, solid 400WRms Amplifier. Has anyone tried this, or seen this? I've seen (and heard) 3 JL 8W6's in the hatch of a camaro, and they sounded great. With 4 6.5" woofers, there is more cone area there than with 3 8's.

<small>[ December 06, 2002, 05:38 PM: Message edited by: Snootch ]</small>
Old 12-06-2002, 09:53 PM
12 Second Club

Default Re: JL Audio 6W0's?

i reckon its possible...how much air space to they require?
Old 12-07-2002, 08:46 PM
TECH Resident

.175 Cubic Ft each sealed. Taking into account the displacement of the speakers themselves, each enclosure holding 2 of them would have to be .359 CuFt minimum.
Linkage:
http://www.jlaudio.com/subwoofers/pdfs/6W0_BDS.pdf