Appearance & Detailing Interior & Exterior Appearance Modifications
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Want to buy orbital polisher locally.

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2012, 04:45 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Want to buy orbital polisher locally.

Anyone know if any stores stock nice polishers like Porter Cables or something similar? According to all the big name hardware store sites they don't. I want to buy it locally as there is a show coming up and I'd like to do some paint correction before it.

Also....I have never used a good orbital before....Am I getting in over my head purchasing such an expensive tool? Are they suitable for first time users?

One more thing...There is a local detailing shop near me. The owner said he would do some decent paint correction on my truck for 150. I'm leery about it because as he was inspecting my truck he kept running his fingers across my paint even though its dirty and he put quite a few scratches (super small) on my paint. Seems like he could possibly suck at his job. lol.

Thanks for any advice you can give me.
Old 05-09-2012, 05:47 PM
TECH Fanatic

Where are you located? The PC is a great tool. Easy to use. No problem for the beginner or professional. The PC is a DA not an Orbital. For the price of a detail you can buy the PC and a starter kit (pads, polish, wax, etc) and never pay anyone again. The PC will last a lifetime. Mine lasted for 5 years or so with 75 cars a year. Lots of video's on YouTube. Adam's is a sponser here and I get my packages in a couple days. Might give them a call and see if they can ship it to you faster.

An orbital is a different animal and should not be used unless you know what your doing or your starting out on a "practice" piece. As in a junk piece that can be thrown away when you burn through the paint

Last edited by 99zee; 05-09-2012 at 06:47 PM.
Old 05-09-2012, 07:17 PM
TECH Resident

Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts