Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Building a resto-rod, need TC advice

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2008, 08:03 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Building a resto-rod, need TC advice

I'm building a resto-rod: a 1966 Corvette convertible on a tube frame with updated components. Here are the specs that count:

1- Stock 402HP LS2 engine out of a 2006 Corvette
2- 3.54 Dana 44 rear end out of an early 90s ZR1 Corvette
3- Will have 245/45/17 or similarly sized tires in rear (about 26" diameter), either on an 8" or 9.5" rim.
4- Rebuilt 4L65E automatic tranny capable of handling 500+ HP
5- Finished car will weigh about 2200lbs

This car will probably never see a track or strip, mostly used for cruising and spirited driving.

My research points to using a Vig 3200 for a torque converter, but I'm a newbie, so what to I know? Any other suggestions? Pros or cons?
Old 07-09-2008, 11:07 PM
FormerVendor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Sorry for the lapse... I just saw this thread.

I would say your stall range is pretty darned close. I don't like to see street cars too much over 3,200 rpm's in mild powetrain combinations. I think it labors the engine too much. But, that's my opinion.

My experience tells me that you'll find that that anyones off the shelf 3200 rpm stall converter will not ever get that high unless you footbrake it hard. The reason is your car is very light compared to the cars those converters were designed for.

Take a look at what we have to offer. Here is a link to a discussion about our Street/Strip Converter Line. https://ls1tech.com/forums/showthrea...ons+ace+racing

If you would like to give me a call tomorrow I would be happy to discuss it with you in detail.

Oh and uh.... of your build!

g
Old 07-10-2008, 09:31 AM
Teching In

Ratchthed,