Sponsored by:

th400

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2008, 06:05 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default th400

i just bought an old th400 tranny

is there anything i can do to make it stronger and preform better and hold around 700 hp

i am going to get a shift kit and i already have a nice tranny cooler

anything else i can do besides cryo freeze the gears
Old 07-16-2008, 06:52 PM
Banned

I like to use a complete 4L80E direct drum with the 34 element sprag and more clutches in the direct.
And use Borg Warner Smooth clutches, TransGo th400 1&2 kit. Never a B&M.
All that and a full rebuild should hold 700 hp.
Old 07-16-2008, 06:56 PM
Teching In

Originally Posted by 9000th01ss
I like to use a complete 4L80E direct drum with the 34 element sprag and more clutches in the direct.
And use Borg Warner Smooth clutches, TransGo th400 1&2 kit. Never a B&M.
All that and a full rebuild should hold 700 hp.
could u explain that a little better

i am sorry

i am a complete noob 2 transmissions

all i know is shift kits and stall converters really

and i am assuming the transgo th400 1&2 kit is a shift kit
Old 07-16-2008, 07:05 PM
FormerVendor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

If you would like to discuss a very nice build for this unit feel free to give me a call at the shop in the morning.

We built 2 units last week... one was for a Show Queen at about 4ooHP. The other was for a '55 210 (Bel Air) that makes in excess of 900H/P n/a. It runs 6.20's in the 1/8 mile.

Yes the Trans-Go and B&M references are for shift kits. Trans-Go has proven to assemble the best, technically correct kits over the years.

We also do swaps and installations in F-Body's very frequently!

No doubt we can put a plan together that will work for you!

Good Luck either way!

g
Old 07-16-2008, 07:08 PM
Teching In

Originally Posted by Ratchthed
If you would like to discuss a very nice build for this unit feel free to give me a call at the shop in the morning.