Cadillac CTS-V 2004-2007 (Gen I) The Caddy with an Attitude...

Questions about builds

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2014, 06:29 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Questions about builds

I am new to this, and still do not have my car shopping around for a decent 06-07 with low miles and no work or damage done so that I know exactly what is in it. I was wondering if this build here was still viable?
http://www.popularhotrodding.com/tec...77346268204652

also are there better parts i could use for around the same price range? after purchasing the car i will have around 6k for basic upgrades any advice would be helpful.

also is this better than the FAST 102?
http://www.carid.com/2004-cadillac-c...-14144807.html
Old 07-21-2014, 07:31 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

AFR heads, FAST intake, and medium cam will get you about 460whp. I realize it was an engine dyno, but 572hp sounds a tad high for stock cubes, though it's not that far off. Either way, that setup would make for a very fun ride.
Old 07-21-2014, 08:25 PM

Thanks, is there anything i could swap out or go bigger on to get around 500whp?
Also what do you mean by cubes? I am new to this, will be my first build and im trying to learn all i can before going into it
Old 07-21-2014, 08:44 PM
TECH Resident

cubic inches
Old 07-21-2014, 08:49 PM
TECH Fanatic

If you want 500whp all motor you're gonna have to drop some coin on a stroker. A 427 is the easiest but you could do it with a slightly smaller motor. If you are new to the cts-v I would say don't worry about power until you get the rest of the car sorted out. It has a lot of quirks from Cadillac that need to be fixed first.
Old 07-21-2014, 08:53 PM

oh ok, other than boreing and stroking is there much else i could do besides what is listed on the build? i was thinking about a bigger cam but i dont know much about compression ratios and dont wanna mess something up. was also looking into afr 243s but unsure of the difference.