Cadillac CTS-V 2004-2007 (Gen I) The Caddy with an Attitude...

Having a BIG issue buying a ctsv out of state

Search this Thread

Old 02-06-2016, 12:53 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thumbs down Having a BIG issue buying a ctsv out of state

So I put this in the Texas forum since Im a Texas resident, but was wondering if any of you had experienced this or know anything about it.

So my credit union approved me for a loan here in Texas.

The car is located in Missouri.

The credit union said they cannot complete the loan because the title is not is the dealerships name.

The dealership told me they do not put the title in their name, however the title is signed on the back by the previous owner along with the dealerships name on the back as well. The dealership also told me the lien release is attached to the title.

The finance director told me she has worked in this business for 27 years and has never had this issue arise, as the dealerships she has worked for never put the title in their name.

Can anyone give me some information about this, or possibly explain what I would need to do?

Im really trying to get this car but this issue is crazy.
Old 02-06-2016, 01:05 PM
Teching In

OPTION A: Find another credit union
OPTION B: Find a CTS-V in Texas
OPTION C: Find a CTS-V under a private seller

My credit union when i bought my 04 Terminator from a private seller had no issue whatsoever going that route.
Old 02-06-2016, 01:32 PM
On The Tree

Well, a guy in the Texas forum said this -

Your credit union doesn't know what the hell they are talking about. Dealers don't transfer titles into their name, they just assign them. I've ran into this before, whoever you're dealing with at the credit union thinks that you're buying from an individual, you need to get a supervisor involved.

Which actually answers my question. I just wasn't sure if dealership's actually put used vehicles in their names or not.
Old 02-06-2016, 01:46 PM
TECH Fanatic