Chevrolet Camaro 1967-2002 The forum for diehard Camaro fans

01 camaro ss bad vibration under heavy acceleration and weird noise

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-2016, 10:36 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 01 camaro ss bad vibration under heavy acceleration and weird noise

Hi I am new to LS1 Tech and I have a problem with my camaro and am looking for some help on narrowing down the issue. My car is a 2001 Chevrolet Camaro SS it has a 408 in it that makes around 500rwhp and 470rwtq. It has a built TH350 3 speed transmission with a TCI 3800 stall converter. The rear in the car is stock and it is the 2nd one I have put in the car. I also have a BMR adjustable torque arm, BMR lower control arms and just put a new panhard bar in because the bushings were wore bad. I know that I need a stronger rear end one but dont want to spend anymore money on the car. My problem is a couple weeks ago I started hearing a weird noise that sounds like a low tire or flat tire noise does. All of my tires are fine. Also when I accelerate hard there is bad violent vibration in the car that goes away if I let off the gas when it starts doing it. I have spoke with several people about the issue and most of them say I could possibly have a bent axle that has caused the outer axle bearings to go bad and wheel bearings to go bad which in turn is what could be causing the noise I am hearing. Im just trying to find someone who has had similar issues and figured out what the problem was. Does anyone think that could be my issue or does anyone have any other suggestions for me to look into? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
Old 11-25-2016, 11:18 PM
Staging Lane

Originally Posted by TatorChip