Conversions & Swaps LSX Engines in Non-LSX Vehicles
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

'56 chevy. First swap need a little help.

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2011, 07:56 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default '56 chevy. First swap need a little help.

This is my first swap so Im still learning about everything that goes along with it.

The car was brought to us with the motor installed but nothing wired.
I'm not 100% sure on what motor is in it. I looked at the chart of LSX engine identification but the only markings I can find on it is '421' on the heads. Ive been told its an LS1 between 1998-2002.. is that correct? Is the engine code marked somewhere on the block?

Any suggestions on fuel supply? Car doesn't have a fuel tank and I'm not sure if the customer will want to find a tank or get a fuel cell.. I just need to give a couple options.

Car has a 1 wire alternator and I was reading about whether to install a resistor because the alternator can't handle a full 12 volts on the 1998 model. I don't know the exact year of the motor though.

Im not to sure on this steering rack. There is the hard and soft line coming off the power steering pump of the LS1. Would the go the the two caps on this rack? Or will I need to get a new rack that will accept power steering?

Thanks ahead of time and if something I asked was already posted I'm sorry but I've been looking for awhile
Old 05-01-2011, 08:02 PM
Old School Heavy

Received 50 Likes on 32 Posts

Is the car using the engine's factory fuel injection, wiring and computer?

On most steering racks, the pressure and return line use different sized fittings so they cannot be crossed in error. On GMs, the larger fitting is the pressure line.
Old 05-01-2011, 08:21 PM
Teching In

Yeah factory fuel injection. Street & performance wiring harness and a factory PCM programmed by street & performance.

I'm not sure if that steering rack is for the bel air or if its been changed.
Old 05-01-2011, 08:33 PM
Old School Heavy