Sponsored by:

Axels Corvette 1969 LS1 T56 Swap, from Swe

Search this Thread

Old 12-19-2012, 02:14 AM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Axels Corvette 1969 LS1 T56 Swap, from Swe

Hi,

I have been planning this swap for a few years but have now decided that it's time to take the step into the LS world! So after alot of good recommendations from you guys I ordered my combo from R J salvages in NY. Its a LS1 t56 combo out of a camaro 2002 with 52k miles on it. It took a few months to get it back to sweden clearing customs etc but after alot of waiting it was finally here and I started working on the car.

This swap will probably take a while as I'm a full time student 160 miles away from my garage but from time to time I'll put effort into the car and hopefully it will be back on the road in not too long.

I think the pictures will speak for themselves and tell whats been done so far so here they are.
The car last summer

Startline
http://i49.tinypic.com/19azon.jpg

My engine lift didn't manage to reach the engine so I had to get a bigger lift..
http://i46.tinypic.com/e5qr85.jpg

My three Vs are saying hello
http://i46.tinypic.com/21eb78.jpg

Empty
http://i45.tinypic.com/2w6tr93.jpg

No going back
http://i50.tinypic.com/29psuup.jpg

Before

After

Before

After

So thats it for now. Today is a new day and I'm leaving for the garage now.

I have one question though, on the LS engine there is a lot of stuff, do I need it all? For example there is two fuel lines, one going to the fuel rails and one going to a little plastic thing connecting to the TB? There is also a pretty massive tube connecting the two exhaust manifolds.. Can I remove any of these or will it affect performance?

Sorry if my english is a bit out.
Thats all for now!
Old 12-19-2012, 06:24 AM
TECH Fanatic

The fuel line going to the tb is a fuel tank vent. And the lines going to the 2 exhaust manifolds are your egr... Both can be deleted if you have your computer reprogramed.