Conversions & Swaps LSX Engines in Non-LSX Vehicles
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

need some 5.3 vortec info and help!

Search this Thread

Old 12-26-2012, 10:28 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default need some 5.3 vortec info and help!

hi guys, im new to the site and somewhat new to all the info on the 5.3 motors. im currently buliding an 83 c-10 project, porterbuilt crossmember whole front end air bag suspention, rack and pinion steering, 2x4 steel frame rails, new ls solid motor mounts and much more, i picked up a 2004 5.3 vortec and 4l60e tranny and wiring out of a truck and started the build on it. im new to all the ls, ls1, lq, lm andall these numbers, whats the first number started and what would my 5.3 be considered? might sound dumb but im not gonna lie im new to it, . ive been reasearching the performance and, i want to make my 5.3 put out some hp but not break my wallet, im thinking cam, port and polish the 862 casting heads, (are the 4.8 heads the same or better?) want to put a cam, and new intake maybe 92mm new valves and hardened push rods. all that will be running off the motor will be an altenator, will go electric with everyting else. im looking for around the 460hp mark. wasting my time? or better with the 6.0? its just a weekend truck that i would like to play with and if i want to travel and hr or 2 away not even think twice and go. what do yall think? any input would be appreciated! thanks!

also wondering what valve springs would be best with a new cam?
Old 12-27-2012, 08:12 AM
12 Second Club

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

Your 5.3 is an lm7. With the right cam 460 at the crank should not be a problem. Match the valve springs to the cam.
Old 12-27-2012, 08:20 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post