Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1965 Cadillac Eldorado LSx conversion- need help/recommendation needed

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2017, 07:29 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1965 Cadillac Eldorado LSx conversion- need help/recommendation needed

I am new at this game, so need help and recommendation for 1965 Cadillac Eldorado LSx conversion.

I want to avoid going the most expensive road and buying Corvette/Camaro engines. So, my question would be which engine/tranny combo should I be looking into.

Should I choose one of the truck engines such as 6.2 L from Escallade or GMC Denali?

Should I instead be looking at 5.3L truck engines?

Should I go for any of the 5.3L car engines?

What tranny should I be looking for?

What about wire harness?

What about all the accessories - A/C compressor, alternator an so forth?

Just want to mention that I want something newer with low miles. Picking up from junk yard and/or eBay is not a problem

Also if anyone can recommend a modern type frame for 65 Caddy it would be super. I know Schwartz performance makes awesome frames but they don't make it for 1965 Cadillac Convertable

Any help would be highly appreciated
Old 01-01-2017, 07:55 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Sounds like you want to go cheaper route. I would suggest a express van or Silverado 2wd for a donor. Buy a wreck with lower miles and get what you need. Sell or scrap left over parts. Wiring can be from donor. Lt1Swap.com has great wiring info. 4.8--5.3--6.0 is available in trucks/ suvs/ vans. Go 2wd so tranny go in no hassle of rear shaft changing. Happy searching
Old 01-01-2017, 09:45 PM
Teching In

Thank you 76larkman. I was wondering on the figment. How does Express van engine would fit under the Caddy's hood?

It doesn't have to dirt cheap. I also want horsepower to be close to 400hp stock
Old 01-01-2017, 10:38 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 17 Likes on 15 Posts

I think you should also look for something with a 4l80e trans, so at least 3/4 ton.