Convertible Vehicles Enthusiasts | Information | Maintenance

The 98+ F-body convertible stereo thread

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-2005, 03:44 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Stereo Install on 2002 Trans Am Convertible (w/Monsoon)

Disclaimer: I am by no means an expert. This is just a write up of what I did. Hopefully it will help some people.

Stereo Install on 2002 Trans Am Convertible (w/Monsoon)

Unplug the negative battery cable before messing with your car’s electrical wiring.

Remove Monsoon head unit. Pop the trim ring off from around the stereo and climate controls. Use a screwdriver or just do it by hand. Unscrew the mounting screws and partially pull out the stereo so you can get to the back of it. Make sure you don’t have a CD in there, unless it’s Celine Dion or some other sissy crap, in which case leave it in. Disconnect the wiring harnesses and antenna cable. Remove head unit. Easy.

Getting new head unit ready for install. I installed a Sony MP-80 ($249.99 when I bought it) head unit I used to have in my VR-4. I used Scosche’s GM1503 install kit, GM02 wiring harness and antenna adaptor. Leave the speaker wires exposed on the wiring harness provided by the stereo or cap them, depending on whether you are going to hook up the pre-outs to separate amp(s) or not. Either way, I’m rewiring the whole car. You can use adaptors and factory amp bypasses and whatnot but that’s for lazy people. Running all new speaker wire is higher quality, more reliable and really not all that difficult. You’ll thank yourself later. Anyways, follow the included instructions and get your stereo ready to install in your house rather than in your car. I soldered and heat-shrank plastic on the necessary wiring harness connections. Plug it in to your car to check it powers up, operates the power antenna and all the functions work. Obviously, you won’t hear any sounds yet. Disconnect and set aside for later.