Corvette Performance
C5 | Z06 | C6 | ZR1 | C7

Rebuild, New Build or Crate Motor?

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2009, 02:28 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rebuild, New Build or Crate Motor?

Hey Folks,

So my 01 Z has almost 150k miles on it and I'm wanting to make some major changes. First being the motor. Obviously I'd like to get as much power for the money that I can. That being said, I have a few choices. Before I get into it, let me say that I am not a mechanic and this is my first Corvette that I have worked on. I know the basics and I read up on almost everything I do before doing it. To give you an idea of my knowledge this far, I have no idea about compression ratios, cam grinds, bores and a lot of the number values and ratios that are used to describe the inner workings of the motor. If anyone could suggest reading material or things of that nature I'd greatly appreciate it.

If I rebuild, I'm fairly sure that it's going to be more of a nightmare than the other two options but might save me a bit of money (re-using the stock block, etc.) If I build a new motor (which I have a very vague idea of how to do) I will want to use top of the line parts and try to get as much power as I can without worrying as much about the cost factor as it will be a much longer term project. But again, the extent of my knowledge is limited and this might be biting off more than I can chew (I see a lot of people start projects like this and then all of a sudden drop it and start selling off the parts). Buying a crate motor will ensure the thing works correctly as it's supposed to but seems to be the least fun of all and will end up getting me only a marginal increase in power over my stock motor as it stands.

I also want to look into forced induction (roots style) later on so I do want to take that into consideration as far as what I will need to be aware of in terms of parts to ready the motor/drive-train for that additional stress.