Drag Racing Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

So I want to start dragracing, where to begin?

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-2007, 12:28 PM
TECH Addict

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Question So I want to start dragracing, where to begin?

I just finished my 2002 SS street car and LOVE it, however, I think I want to build something for the track only now using a new car I will buy (preferably another f body)....I want to start with a mild strip car, then work my way up to something that say runs 9's and lower as time goes on...I know I have to start somewhere...I have NO track experience as far as strip only cars goes other than what I have seen and helped guys work on...***never owned a real race car though***

Anyway, I realize this is a BROAD question, so I expect an array of answers...
I am not looking for specifics persay, but rather how others got started, how they chose a car, how they chose a motor, and how they went about progressing into the sport ie, licenses, finances, etcetc...

You can also mention what it costs to get started roughly with a decent stripper car that runs say consistent 11's and lower with all the appropriate safety features etcetc...

ALSO, what do I need to do as far as the NHRA is concerned with memberships etcetc?

THANKS!
Old 02-15-2007, 01:40 PM
TECH Addict

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

first thing you need to do- Buy a Snell approved helmet, find a local track, tell the Tech your new so they can help you out alil bit, then go run the car. See if you like it before you do anything else. If you like it, start with a good rear end and suspension. It might not make you the fastest thing around right now, but it will allow you to be later on... and not stuck on the side of the road
Old 02-15-2007, 02:35 PM
TECH Enthusiast