Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

MAF question

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2009, 06:25 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default MAF question

I was wondering (being i am new to FI and all) about the MAF on turbo applications. Most turbo applications I have seen do not have the MAF in the piping. I hate to ask about this but I am new and am going turbo!
Old 06-17-2009, 08:55 PM
FormerVendor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by metalman
I was wondering (being i am new to FI and all) about the MAF on turbo applications. Most turbo applications I have seen do not have the MAF in the piping. I hate to ask about this but I am new and am going turbo!
On anything other than low boost on a stock engine, removing the MAF sensor and converting to speed density is by far your best option.
Old 06-17-2009, 09:14 PM
Staging Lane

what all does it take to convert to speed density? Like I say I am new to the turbo and FI game.
Old 06-17-2009, 09:25 PM
Launching!

MAP sensor, 2 or 3 bar.
Old 06-17-2009, 09:41 PM
Staging Lane

I appreciate the info. I will try and get all learned up on the map sensor and make it happen. I am very excited to go turbo.
Old 06-18-2009, 07:42 AM
TECH Addict

Received 17 Likes on 14 Posts

It's all based on ones opinion, Some say MAF, others say Mafless, Some say they gained HP going to SD and drive ability improved, others say they switched to SD and did not gain anything. Mine with a MAF, 12lbs of boost = 648 RWHP on pump gas, No issues what so ever...
Old 06-18-2009, 08:02 AM
TECH Veteran

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Speed density like hptuners setup have advantages ,some disadvantages too.
No maf is nice and clean looking.Also you get two PE tables which control WOT fueling. You can set the non boost one to say 12.8 thru the range. Then set the boost table to say 11.0 thru the range.
Now for sure you richen up when you want to and don't richen up when you don't want to.