Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Any online resources for learning to build a turbo kit?

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-2013, 04:31 PM
10 Second Club

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Any online resources for learning to build a turbo kit?

Im very interested in starting to build my own custom exhaust and turbo kits for my own projects and for fun, not a business.

My background is auto mechanics,10 years at Mercedes and now i work on heavy duty diesel. I built my own garage with a lift and a complete set of tools. Im very well versed in cars.

My lack of knowledge is in custom fabrication. I took a welding course about 12 years ago. Id like to buy both mig and tig, along with a nice table saw to cut the pipes.

Im looking for anything i can learn from primarily in cutting specific angles needed to make a custom exhaust or cold side. Any videos or books that some one knows of?

Thanks
Alex
Old 01-24-2013, 05:55 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Youtube and google are great.
Old 01-24-2013, 06:01 PM
TECH Addict

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I did a lot of learning from this website. I looked at many builds to get ideas.
Old 01-24-2013, 06:52 PM
TECH Regular

Your going to be dropping allot of coin into welding equipment just to do this. espically if you buy a decent tig but plan on dropping 2k to get setup with both welders by the time you buy a bottle of C25 and argon for the tig... with that kindo of coin you can buy the hurron speed kit in the classified and have money left over for the beer to do the install...
Old 01-24-2013, 07:04 PM
9 Second Club

Originally Posted by SPRAYED 01
Im very interested in starting to build my own custom exhaust and turbo kits for my own projects and for fun, not a business.

My background is auto mechanics,10 years at Mercedes and now i work on heavy duty diesel. I built my own garage with a lift and a complete set of tools. Im very well versed in cars.