Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Boost Guage Question???

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2007, 08:37 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Boost Guage Question???

I was reading the directions for once!!!! and it says to hook my power wire up to something that doesn't loose power while cranking or it won't function correctly. I was thinking the radio, but im pretty sure I recall it lossing power while cranking. So my question is where is a good place to hook it up at. And also there is another wire that says 12v allumination where do I need to hook that wire up at? I know this is alittle stupid question but bare with me im no electrician.. Also it is a 2000 Trans Am

Thanks for your help,
Jimmy
Old 01-23-2007, 08:43 PM
TECH Resident

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

You can tap in at the fuse for the radio/accessories. Should work fine. You won't be seeing any boost while cranking anyways.
Old 01-23-2007, 08:45 PM
On The Tree

Yeah I know that but, I was just going by what the directions say. What you think about the other wire illumination one.

Thanks
Jimmy
Old 01-23-2007, 08:49 PM
TECH Resident

I think it was referring to a circuit that powers up for startup but then shuts off once the car turns on. If you wire it up through the radio circuit, you'll be fine.
Old 01-23-2007, 08:51 PM
On The Tree

Cool that's what I wanted to hear! Thank you for your help.

Jimmy
Old 01-23-2007, 08:52 PM
TECH Resident

no problem. Gotta help out a fellow 00' WS6 owner.
Old 01-23-2007, 09:15 PM
TECH Resident

A test light will verify that it doesn't shut off at crank. Its important that it stays powered up, otherwise it will recalibrate while the engine is pulling vacuum making your boost read artificially high.
Old 01-23-2007, 09:59 PM
On The Tree

Originally Posted by andereck