Gen 5 Camaro Racing Tech, Results Drag racing, road racing, street racing. Share tech & results!

Launching a high RWHP stick car

Search this Thread

Old 03-12-2014, 12:57 PM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Launching a high RWHP stick car

I have no experience! All of my racing has been with autos. My car puts down just shy of 750RWHP. I have Bogarts and slicks. I have a Gforce 9" with 3.89 gears and also the Pedders coilovers on all 4 corners and toe rods.

The car is currently having a Mantic 9000 installed and the track opens in about 4 weeks. So, how do I get her off the line? I have a two-step hooked to the clutch switch. I am thinking of launching at 3500RPM or so, but maybe that isn't high enough. Looking for some opinions on launch technique and suggestions for the front/rear suspensions (maybe a drag bar?).
Old 03-12-2014, 02:54 PM
TECH Regular

Originally Posted by pancherj
I have no experience! All of my racing has been with autos. My car puts down just shy of 750RWHP. I have Bogarts and slicks. I have a Gforce 9" with 3.89 gears and also the Pedders coilovers on all 4 corners and toe rods.

The car is currently having a Mantic 9000 installed and the track opens in about 4 weeks. So, how do I get her off the line? I have a two-step hooked to the clutch switch. I am thinking of launching at 3500RPM or so, but maybe that isn't high enough. Looking for some opinions on launch technique and suggestions for the front/rear suspensions (maybe a drag bar?).
I had a stick shift tranny behind my 1200 horsepower 2010 Camaro with bogart slicks. I launched at 3000, anything higher and I'd smoke the tires.
your car is different and I think 3500 is a good starting point.
if it hooks at 3500 then try a little higher on each pass till you find the sweet spot as evidenced by your 60 foots. it all depends on your suspension, flywheel weight (I had an aluminum flywheel to try to keep the tires from spinning), track prep, tire psi, etc...