Gen 6 Camaro 2016+ Forum The forum for discussion of the 6th Gen 2016+ Camaro

New camaro ss rough ride

Search this Thread

Old 09-26-2016, 07:53 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New camaro ss rough ride

SORRY BUT I SEARCHED AND FOUND NOTHING , I just purchased an 2016 ss w/magnetic ride control, the car was a demo car and has roughly 2100 miles on it, i tried driving in every mode on the car and the ride is really rough to the point the rear end jumps side was when I go over mumps on the high way , I cant believe that this car with all the suspension upgrade would ride this rough , Is this just the way the car is? Is maybe my ride control not working ? is there a way to tell ? would there be a service light on? I'm new to sports cars period so if anyone could be of help , thanks in advance.
Old 09-26-2016, 08:29 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 17 Likes on 15 Posts

the one i drove rode smoothly.

what kinds of roads were you on and how were you driving?
Old 09-26-2016, 08:46 PM

driving 65 mph on the highway in Illinois , evrey crease in the road the car bounced like it did in my z71 silverado i just traded but my truck rear end did not bounce to the side.
Old 09-28-2016, 11:00 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 35 Likes on 28 Posts

Maybe you should have the dealer look at it if it's that bad. An IRS is an overrated handling piece but it's biggest performance benefit if how it stays composed compared to a SRA on rough and bumpy surfaces. Also a IRS generally rides much stiffer than a SRA without being harsh. This makes for flatter cornering. IMO you usually see bigger benefits in ride quality opposed to handling benefits with a IRS.
Old 09-29-2016, 11:06 AM
LS1Tech Premium Sponsor

Received 17 Likes on 16 Posts

We have seen intermittent issues with this same condition with MRC cars that have lowering springs. We are doing testing and development work now to resolve that.