General LSX Automobile Discussion Non-technical LSX related topics.

help me find my next v8...

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-2013, 10:23 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default help me find my next v8...

Alright guys, im new to the v8 world but not new to cars. Ive been in the import scene since highschool and now i have decided to take a dive into v8 and some power. I know im new hear and it sounds like a fantasy thread but i am being serious.

I am about to sell my current car which is paid off and possibly cash in 20-25k on it. NOW what i really want to do is build a boosted street machine that runs 9's but still can be daily driven. ive thought about buying an older camaro and dropping a lsx 376, ive thought about just getting a car with an ls1 and building the bottom end with lower compression pistons, etc. etc.

I want to do it on a budget and i will be doing most of the work myself. everything possible short of boring and all the machine work.

so for what i want:

1) i really want a sedan but i do have to budget which means i have to keep my options open.
2)boosted (procharged f-1)
3) build bottom end

please help me out guys and just share your expertise. thank you so much
Old 03-20-2013, 06:09 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 17 Likes on 15 Posts

Smile

LS9 with supporting drivetrain.
Old 03-20-2013, 08:58 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Can cost a lot of money for 9s that won't break constantly.
You could save a lot by buying someone else's project.
Getting a roller with the suspension, cage etc. done could be a
real money\time saver.
http://www.racingjunk.com/ is full of cars for sale at a price
you could not build it for that. I hate that site I get on it and
there goes most of the day.
Old 03-20-2013, 09:13 AM
On The Tree

lol ls9...

what i was really thinking was a cts-v either early or late model and building to bottom end...thoughts?
Old 03-20-2013, 11:42 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts