General LSX Automobile Discussion Non-technical LSX related topics.

FBody , GTO or C5Z

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2014, 02:08 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question FBody , GTO or C5Z

Okay, so I've been debating this for probably 3-4 months. I'm planning on buying within the next 5 weeks. I need to make up my mind so I can focus my search more.

My goals are over time (over the next 3-5 years) are to build a turbo lsx 8.90 1/4 weekend STREET and track warrior.

My concerns are living with a car as a daily until that point.

I've owned a 10 second Camaro SS and I loved it and have really planned on building another one much faster ever since I regretfully sold my last one.

GTO, I test drive an 04 once ans fell in love with how smooth and comfortable the car was.. Other than that , I know there heavy but I'm also aware of the ls2 capabilities over the ls1.

C5Z- never driven a c5 but I've been around them and I love there lite weight to start with , but much like the ls1 the internals are only good for so much.

I guess my main concern is over all dollar to performance . I love all three platforms and I can't make up my mind.

If I had them in order right now , it would be camaro < gto < c5z. And that's pretty much based on price and the fact the z doesn't have a back seat lol..

Keeping in mind my concern is price to performance gain and over all drivability and daily use.. With a 8.90 1/4 mile goal.. What's your guys opinions .

Also if at all possible , I'm only interested in 6spd platform .. So maybe a trap speed of 150mph Is a better basis.
Old 03-05-2014, 02:33 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 10 Likes on 7 Posts