Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

someone please explain these low temp thermostats

Search this Thread

Old 11-05-2008, 11:55 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default someone please explain these low temp thermostats

the hotter an engine gets the better the combustion, and the more effecient it runs. unless your runnin nitrous, i just dont get what the benifit is. it seems to me all that would improve with lower operating temps is better emissions, and we all care about that soooo much. im new to the mod world but i know engines. unless someone comes up with a logical expanation i will NOT be putting one on my ride.
Old 11-06-2008, 09:43 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

I run a 160 stat but only after i added the blower to my engine. Reason being with the pro charger you loose one of the stock fans and ati gives you a single 12'' fan. So with that and the high intake air tems the bower can produce I chose to fun a colder stat. The lowest temps I see are 170 deg. and after several WOT passes the temp will get to 210 deg. If your just a bolton or head/cam car there really isn't any reason to drop the temp of your stat. If any thing just change the temp that fans come on to a cooler temp.
Old 11-06-2008, 11:32 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Putting a lower temp stat is would only be good if you retune (dyno) your PCM for the lower operating Temp and set the fans to a lower temp to match the stat.

The modern day engine is designed and engineered to be both performance and emission complaint and has been tune to operate in the given temp range.

This a a subject that continues to be debated. If you have the time, try it and if it works for you, then go with it.. if not.. just leave it as is.

Let us know what you do and what works..
Old 11-06-2008, 12:54 PM
12 Second Club

Originally Posted by GM WORLD CLASS