Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need advice, LS1 swap into G-body

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2010, 12:04 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need advice, LS1 swap into G-body

I am currently in the process of swapping a ls1 from a 1999 trans am (parts car). The engine has alot of miles, so I am having the bottom end built (new rod/main bearings/bolts, forged pistons (which I have), etc. I have ordered the oil pan and motor/transmissions mounts to make everything fit, and I am using the wiring harness from the parts Trans am. So, to get to the point...

What heads should I invest in? I can get a set of stock 317's for $150, or I could look into buying some Ls6 heads used. Either way, I am going to have them worked. I am running the ms3 cam and keeping things N/A. Trying to get the most for my money. Any feedback is appreciated, and sorry for the long post. I'm new to this.
Old 12-11-2010, 05:38 PM
On The Tree

What company did you go with to mount it? I am leaning very heavily on BRP Musclerods for my kit.
Old 12-12-2010, 09:14 AM
Teching In

The BRP kit. It's expensive, but time is money and I know most everything will fit using their mounts. Just haven't decided if i'm gonna grab the LH8 oil pan as well, or try and modify things to make it fit.
Old 12-12-2010, 09:14 AM
Teching In

Sorry, It as in the stock F-body oil pan.
Old 12-12-2010, 10:29 AM
TECH Resident

I'd do LS6 243's.
Old 12-12-2010, 01:16 PM
TECH Addict

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Originally Posted by LSXMonteSS
I am currently in the process of swapping a ls1 from a 1999 trans am (parts car). The engine has alot of miles, so I am having the bottom end built (new rod/main bearings/bolts, forged pistons (which I have), etc. I have ordered the oil pan and motor/transmissions mounts to make everything fit, and I am using the wiring harness from the parts Trans am. So, to get to the point...