Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Major engine problems with JPR 388

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2003, 10:56 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Major engine problems with JPR 388

My car has been at JD's auto repair now since last monday. I took the car there because Joe Prince @ JPR recommended taking it there, saying that JD is handling the install portion of his business now. As many of you know, I have had problems with the car since day one with the new engine. It dynoes well, but it smokes like a **** going down the track and I can not get good times out of it, it seems to have a loss of power in the upper rpm band, and just feels flat. Before the 388, best ET 11.87 @ 118, after breakin and exactly the same setup I go to atco and I cannot get the car to run faster than 116mph trap times (and slower ETs too). I thought it was just that I was a bad driver, and the clutch is tricky, but at that time it was working fine.

Back and forth with JPR, changed cams, changed cylender heads, changed injectors (twice), multiple retunes, LS6 oil management system, new rockers, the list goes on and on. The original project budget was $5500, went up to $7500, and now I have over $12k into the car's motor this year alone. I paid for everything, except I was given a break on the second cam install. Now I am told it will take $5-6k to get my car running again because of the following:
1. collapsed lifters, five (5) of them. I have never heard of Comp R racing lifters collapsing
2. glazed cylender walls -- JD says they look like a very old car's, and had to be re-honed (work already done), which will require new forged pistons and new piston rings (which were apparently shot anyhow). Stretched rods, which initially said would require new rods, but now apparently are salvageable
3. rework needed on cylender heads, with only 1500 miles on the heads, they need to be reworked for $300.