Sponsored by:

5.3 LM7 Piston ring sizing after honing

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2022, 11:39 AM
Teching In

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 5.3 LM7 Piston ring sizing after honing

Hi,

This is my first build. My cylinders have recently been honed and now measure 3.781-3.783 inches. Do I need oversized rings? Is this within tolerance for using stock rings?

Stock (3.780)

​​Thanks
Old 05-06-2022, 02:09 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 599 Likes on 414 Posts

Depends on the rings. Although, there are some pretty reliable Rules Of Thumb.

Put one in the cyl; tamp it down with a piston turned upside-down to make sure it's absolutely square with the cyl; measure the gap with a feeler gauge.

"Nominal" for an otherwise typical "hot street" motor of that bore size would be around .020" - .022" on the top ring, and maybe .025" - .026" on the 2nd. A LITTLE "too much" is FAR LESS BAD than ANY "too little". Think of the "spec" as a minimum that you want to approach from above, NOT an "ideal" value that has a tolerance band around it. Remember, rings GROW when they get hot, and that gap closes up; if it closes to .000001", you're golden; but if it closes beyond zero AT ALL, you have A PILE OF SHRAPNEL. Tread on the thin ice carefully.

Add .003 - .005" if this is a turbo motor or the like. (doesn't sound like it)
The following users liked this post:
jilic (05-09-2022)
Old 05-06-2022, 07:56 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 412 Likes on 293 Posts

Have you measured the gaps to see if you are within the service range??? The image below was downloaded from this copy of the OEM specs. https://bakesonline.com/images/Media...epairSpecs.pdf

jilic (05-09-2022)
Old 05-07-2022, 05:42 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 94 Likes on 66 Posts

Ring gap is ring gap. Would worry about ptw clearance more. Is there a taper?

Edit: Figure out where you want your ring gap
jilic (05-09-2022)
Old 05-07-2022, 06:52 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 113 Likes on 88 Posts