Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie here.... Just bought a lq4, Have a bunch of ????

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2010, 09:13 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie here.... Just bought a lq4, Have a bunch of ????

Hello everyone, sweet forum!

I just recent bought an 05 lq4 engine from an express van and had a bunch of questions.
FIrst off, whats the difference between lq4 and the lq9? Im pretty sure its compression but where at, heads? Pistons? Crank?
Also, What intake manifold will work best on one of these engines in a desert racing application? More torque the better.
Next question, The engine is setup with the drive by wire throttle body, how do i make it cable driven work.
I dont have a harness yet and plan on getting a custom one made. WHere would be a good place to get a custom harness?
Also, dont have an ecu, do i have to get one from the same type of vehicle or will any 6.0l ecu work?
Last question for now, is there aftermarket cams available that can use the factory valve springs, or is that not a good idea?
Old 03-12-2010, 12:25 AM
On The Tree

Interested as well as to the differences between lq9 and lq4, is it just compression?
Old 03-12-2010, 05:11 AM

To the best of my knowledged the difference between the LQ4 and LQ9 is strictly the pistons. The LQ4 has dished whereas the LQ9 has flattops. They both use the same head. I also have a 2005 LQ4 that came with the 317 heads.

i am sure others will chime in on this, but if you want torque your best bet is going to stay with the truck intake manifold. Trying to go with a LS6 setup is not going to be cost effective for torque requirements, especially for the cost of the front drive/pulley arrangement.

I used Current performance when I had my harness built for my 72 truck and those guys did an extremely awesome job. It was not a quick turnaround though. As a newbie also the custom harness took the guess work right out of the picture.