Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Little help for this WS6 Noob??

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2013, 03:02 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Little help for this WS6 Noob??

Hey I'm new to all this modding of car. I have a 1999 trans am ws6 six speed with straight pipe/cat back exhaust. sitting right at 100k miles. I want to be pushing around 425-450 hp without exceeding 4/5 thousand dollars. I really would like to do this with heads/cams, headers, ThrottleBody, and some sort of intake. I was also thinking a detroit locker rear end to hold the horse and a upgraded clutch....

Soooo after all of that where do you think i sit $$$ money wise and any suggestions from experience??
Old 01-10-2013, 03:12 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Money wise? No way you're getting all those mods for 4/5 thousand, even used parts will probably be over that and then you have labor and tuning to think about. Little stuff adds up too. You could run nitrous though...
Old 01-10-2013, 03:18 PM
10 Second Club

425HP can be made with that type of budget, but thats exactly what it is, a budget. 4/5K sounds like a lot of money but in all reality this will get soaked up in parts, and if you don't have all the tools (Speacial and basic) that are required, that begins to cut into the budget some as well. It can be done no doubt.

1 7/8" Headers (Budget depending on which brand. TSP/Pacesetter)
5.3/243(799) (CNC'd and milled or just ported and polished. Budget depending, just some ideas)
Cam (Build specific. Martin@TickPerformance can steer you in the right direction)
LS2 Timing Chain
Ported LS6 Oil Pump
Pushrods (Measure length and brand is budget dependant)
LS7 Lifters
LS6 intake @ the minimum. Fast is you can afford it.
Throttle Body: Ported and polished stocker is good enough for the LS6 intake